2008 - 1 CD(s) - rock,2008,britpop,albums I own,alternative

Code Barre : 5099923558922

Code ASIN : B001BZZ29C

Forth Forth is the fourth and final album by English alternative rock band The Verve. It was released internationally on August 25, 2008, and a day later in North America. The band reformed in 2007, having broken up in 1999. Forth is their first album of new material since their 1997 album Urban Hymns. The album's first single, "Love Is Noise," received its first airplay by Zane Lowe on BBC Radio 1 on June 23, 2008. The song reached #4 on the UK Singles Chart and became a summer hit in Europe. The band also released a non-album track, "Mover," as a free digital download a week later. Background The band recorded new songs in Richmond between 2007 and 2008. Most of the backing tracks were done before touring the UK in November and December. Then, recording continued between February and the start of their summer dates in April and some final work was done after the mini US-tour done between April and May before their summer festival appearances in Europe and Japan. The new songs feature vocalist Richard Ashcroft's structured balladry found on Urban Hymns with freeform sonic storms inspired by Nick McCabe's guitar. Jonathan Cohen of Billboard states that Forth is " bracing blend of the experimentalism of the group's early work and the more structured songwriting of its last two efforts." "Sit and Wonder" and "Love Is Noise" have been played live during the band's festival appearances, including the Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival in April 2008; "Rather Be" also received select live airings throughout the summer, notably as part of the band's headlining set at the V Festival in August 2008. Release and reception Like The Verve's previous studio album Urban Hymns, Forth peaked on the UK Albums Chart at number one, and at number 23 on the U.S. Billboard 200. Forth was certified gold by the British Phonographic Industry. The album sold about 21,000 copies in its first week of release in the U.S., and as of January 2009 has sold about 53,000 copies in the U.S. Forth was named #47 in Q's "50 Best Albums of the Year" for 2008. .

Titres de l'album :

- 1 - Sit and Wonder ( 06:52 )
- 2 - Love Is Noise ( 05:29 )
- 3 - Rather Be ( 05:38 )
- 4 - Judas ( 06:19 )
- 5 - Numbness ( 06:35 )
- 6 - I See Houses ( 05:37 )
- 7 - Noise Epic ( 08:14 )
- 8 - Valium Skies ( 04:34 )
- 9 - Columbo ( 07:30 )
- 10 - Appalachian Springs ( 07:34 )

Voir les autres albums

Attention : Ce site n'est pas affilié à The Verve | © 2018 EB-AR All Rights Reserved